The Eye Bank Foundation of South Africa

The Eye Bank Foundation of SA is a registered non-profit organisation and is authorised by the Dept. of Health.

Management and Control of the Foundation is vested in the Governing Board of Trustees and the Management Committee of the Eye Bank. All Committee Members serve in an Honorary capacity.

The primary function of the Eye Bank Foundation of South Africa is to procure and distribute donated human eye tissue (namely corneal and sclera tissue) to Ophthalmic Surgeons within our operating regions, for transplantation purposes. Our current operational regions are as follows: Western Cape, Northern Cape and parts of the Eastern Cape (East London).

In previous years, the difficulty had always been that Ophthalmic Surgeons could not obtain corneas for transplant purposes when needed. Because of these shortages and delays, sight was often permanently and irrevocably lost. The Eye Bank Foundation of SA was established to try and alleviate this problem.

The Eye Bank Foundation of SA started its operations in 1975, and initially supplied eye tissue to Ophthalmic Surgeons throughout the country. The Eye Bank Foundation of SA has subsequently withdrawn its services from those areas where new Eye Banks have been established.

Since 1975, the Eye Bank Foundation of SA has supplied many donor corneas for transplant however the need for donor corneas is never satisfied as new patients are continuously being added to the waiting list. Added to this dilemma is the fact that legislation changes in SA have made it more difficult to successfully procure enough tissue to satisfy the huge demand.

"A Gift of Sight, is a Gift of Life!"

« Back to Members

Address:231 Lower Main Road
Telephone:021 447 5151
Fax:021 448 6086
Mobile:082 463 7945